theme logo

Basic Facts

  • The President gives the RI Award of Honor during the presidential year.
  • There are no forms or applications to recommend an honoree.
  • Honorees are chosen at the discretion of the President, with the concurrence of the Board of Directors.
  • A certificate in a special presentation folder and a medal, as well as a letter from the President, accompanies the Award.
  • The certificate and the medal are either presented by the President (hand-carried) or presented by a representative of the President (sent to the representative by the fastest mail service.)
  • Names are listed on the plaque by the President’s office.

Past Recipients

His Royal Highness Prince Andrew Bertie Grand Master, Military Order of Malta
George Bush President, United States of America
Mikhail Sergeivitch Gorbachev President, United Soviet Socialist Republic
Dr. Carlos Salinas de Gortari President, United Mexican States
Margaret Thatcher, M.P. Prime Minister, United Kingdom
His Majesty Bhumibol Adulyadej King of Thailand
Fernando Collor de Mello President, Federative Republic of Brazil
F.W. de Klerk President, Republic of South Africa
Helmut Kohl Chancellor, Federal Republic of Germany
President Soeharto President, Republic of Indonesia
Fidel Valdez Ramos President, Republic of the Philippines
His Majesty Carl XVI Gustaf King of Sweden
Carlos Saul Menem President, Republic of Argentina
William Jefferson Clinton President, United States of America
Dr. Luis Alberto Lacalle President, Republic of Uruguay
His Majesty Hassan II King of Morocco
Lech Walesa President, Republic of Poland
Kim Young Sam President, Korea
His Majesty Tuanku Jaafar Ibni Al Marhum Tuanku King of Malaysia
His Serene Highness Prince Ranier Prince of Monaco
His Majesty King Hussein King of Jordan
Dr. Rafael Caldera President, Venezuela
Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardosa President, Federative Republic of Brazil
Nelson Mandela State President, Republic of South Africa
Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma President, Republic of India
Ezer Weizman President, Israel
Kofi Annan Secretary General of the United Nations
Ryutaro Hashimoto Prime Minister of Japan
Alvaro Arzu Irigoyen President of Guatemala
Mohammed Hosny Mubarak President, Arab Republic of Egypt
Eduardo Frei Ruiz-Tagle President of Chile
Lee Teng-hui President of Taiwan
Sir Sigmund Sternberg England
None was awarded in 1998-99 or 1999-2000  
Ahmet Necdet Sezer President of Turkey
Vicente Fox Quesada Presidente Constitucional de los Estado Unidos Mexicanos
George W. Bush President of the United States of America
Chen Shui-bian President of the Republic of China
Jerry Lewis United States of America
Ronald Reagan 40th President of the United States of America
His Majesty Don Juan Carlos I King of Spain
Her Majesty Queen Silvia Queen of Sweden
Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Princess of Thailand
His Excellency Dr. Bakili Muluzi President of the Republic of Malawi
H.E. General Emile Lahoud President of the Republic of Lebanon
His Excellency Levy P. Mwanawasa S.C. President of the Republic of Zambia
Chief Olusegun Obasanjo President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
Gloria Macapagal Arroyo President of the Republic of the Philippines
Arnold Ruutel, President of Estonia
Dr. Genshitu Sen Retired Grand Tea Master, Japan
King Mohamed VI King of Morocco
First Lady Laura Bush Wife of the President of the United States of America
None was awarded in 2005-06 or 2006-07  
In Sang Song Past RI Director; Past TRF Trustee
His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI  
Giorgio Napolitano President, Republic of Italy
Ban Ki-moon Secretary General, United Nations
Lee Kuan Yew Minister Mentor, Republic of Singapore